The California Child Victims Act
On September 14, 2019, the California Legislature passed California Assembly Bill 218 (also known as the California Child Victims Act) which gave survivors of childhood sexual abuse a chance at justice and healing denied to them for so long due. On October 14, 2019, it passed into law. A revolutionary step forward for the Child Protection Movement.
The California Child Victims Act:
- Opens a three year window, beginning January 1, 2020, for survivors of any age to pursue justice, no matter how old they are, when the abuse occurred, or if their abuser is alive or dead.
- Expands the definition of childhood sexual abuse, which will now be recognized and referred to as childhood sexual assault.
- Increases the time limit for commencing an action for recovery of damages suffered as a result of childhood sexual assault to the age of 40 or within 5 years of the date the survivor discovers that psychological injury or illness occurring after the age of 18 was caused by sexual assault (whichever is later).
If you were sexually abused by a priest, Scout leader, counselor, teacher, coach or other trusted adult in California, you still have rights. We want to help you. Contact our California office confidentially at 1-800-ITS-TIME today.
You Are Not Alone. We Are Here to Help You.
Every survivor of child sexual abuse should be allowed to come forward when he or she is ready. If you decide to contact us and share your story, we want you to know that your privacy will be respected and protected. We have worked with child sexual abuse survivors for over 30 years and understand how difficult it is to take this step. Your identity will remain confidential throughout the entire process. Contact us today.